Boston Strong

The horror of this week seems to compound daily. While we had so much hope of the suspects behind the Marathon bombing being caught yesterday, we were crushed this morning to find out that Dan actually knew the person at MIT they had murdered in the wee hours of the morning today. He and I both ended up taking shorter days at work to come home and try to process everything. His brother was kind enough to come over and keep him company until I could get home. He doesn’t ever cry, but he did today. I felt terrible as he called me to say he was leaving work. I have had the news on via the radio or TV most of the day, hoping the second suspect is caught. My co-workers who were in the city or its suburbs were on lockdown today. The Red Sox and Bruins games were both postponed tonight. The MBTA has been shut down all day. No trains run into or out of the city via Amtrak.

We had planned to go to our Red Sox game next weekend and we bought tickets to the first Bruins Playoff game. I’m hoping we are still able to go, and that this nightmare comes to and end soon so that everyone can stop being terrified. From what I’ve seen online, it’s a ghost town with police everywhere. It just isn’t fair for life to be halted for thousands of people because of one sick, horrible person. Everyone I work with wore Boston-themed shirts today. Sox, Celtics, Bruins. It was so great to see everyone being supportive. We even managed to have a little birthday party for two of the employees who were celebrating their special days this weekend. Unfortunately, our coworker who made their cake from scratch was in Boston and couldn’t get out. Luckily, we had enough brownies and silent noisemakers (ironic) to make their day happy, and we Facebooked and Instagrammed the little party for our absent coworker to see from her home.

20130419-181533.jpg

I admit, candying turkey bacon in oatmeal stout and brown sugar and slapping it on sugary brownies was not my finest moment last night. But hell, it felt like the right week for it. Recipes here and here, by the way!

20130419-181633.jpg

20130419-181756.jpg

I did some original recipe writing this week as well. I tossed together a pretty good salad for our dinner two nights (one was just a simple romaine salad with various veggies, and the other was a more intricate southwestern-themed salad).

20130419-181918.jpg

This is what I did for the other salad!

Southwestern Salad (serves about 4)

7-8 oz. boneless, skinless chicken breast strips (seasoned with salt and pepper and baked until cooked through)
4-6 oz. baby spinach or romaine lettuce
2 stalks celery, chopped
1/4 cucumber, peeled and sliced
5 grape tomatoes, chopped in half if desired
1/2 white onion, cut into rings
1/4 red bell pepper, seeded and cut into rings
1/4 cup chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1/4 cup black beans, rinsed and drained,
1/4 cup white corn, rinsed and drained
A sprinkle of paprika

Rinse your lettuce or spinach. Top with other ingredients, toss together, and serve with dressing, if desired.

20130419-182520.jpg

Pretty good stuff! We also had these yummy fish tacos, adapted from this recipe. I didn’t actually make any of the condiments as it says to, I simply topped them with a sprinkle of mozzarella cheese, a teaspoon or two of jar salsa, and a touch of sour cream.

20130419-182759.jpg

I should probably mention the lack of information about my exercising is due to…well, my lack of exercising. I gave blood with four of my coworkers on Tuesday night at a local Red Cross. We waited for four hours, and it was my first time giving, but I felt like I needed to do something to help the cause in the city. The nurses had trouble finding a good vein, then the drip was going very slowly, and then it wasn’t clotting well so I had to have a special extra bandage to really hold the wound closed…but the whole experience was worthwhile and I work with some great people. I tried to go back to the gym last night but I was in a cold sweat and nauseas when I tried to run or even walk quickly, so I took it super easy. Today just wasn’t an option with everything going on.

Tonight I baked the yellow cakes that we will serve for my father-in-law’s 60th birthday celebration tomorrow night. It was comforting to taste the sugary batter and smell the familiar scent of the cakes baking. It’s warm here tonight so we had the windows open despite the sprinkling outside and the strong wind. The fresh air feels nice. It’s so hard to act like everything is normal here. It doesn’t feel like it will ever be quite the same again. But we are Boston and we are strong, and nobody messes with us. I hope the people responsible for all of this come to know that very very soon.

20130419-183357.jpg

Leave a Reply

