Let’s go Patriots!

It’s Sunday evening, which means it’s football time! I’m sort of a bandwagon Patriots fan in that I was raised in a house where football reigned supreme and my hubby loves it, so even though I don’t understand the game or enjoy watching it much, I can get caught up in the hype. Today, I decided to attempt to lighten up Dan’s tailgating snacks because he seemed so enthusiastic about the idea of not having to give them up due to our diet. His favorite dip is buffalo chicken (his favorite anything is buffalo — yesterday while walking to the car from our raw/vegan lunch, he tried to get me to stop into a cleverly named wrap restaurant because he saw a buffalo chicken wrap on the whiteboard. We had JUST finished eating, mind you. The whining hasn’t ceased since). It’s not a particularly light dip, with cream cheese, shredded cheeses, and the accompanying chips or crackers.

I googled around to find a recipe that appealed to me. I came upon this one, which looked like it would be easy to cut in half (I didn’t need like six servings’ worth for one guy, as hungry as he might be), and seemed like it would be okay despite me cutting out the chicken component. Yes, you heard me, buffalo chicken dip without the chicken. I wasn’t wasting part of a pack of chicken to make a snack and we didn’t have any canned. I had Neufchatel cheese, generic hot sauce, light mozzarella cheese, and celery, and I chopped the recipe right down the line and baked it in a medium-sized ramekin for about 3/4 of the time the recipe called for.

It looks like it’s glowing due to the low-fi Instagram tint

20130113-160945.jpg

I chopped up some celery (Dan said: “nothing like celery on my celery” because there’s chopped celery in the dip), carrots, and quartered and popped half a pita round in the toaster and served it up. I insisted he not gobble the entire thing in one sitting, lest he defeat the “light” aspect of it.

20130113-161140.jpg

All in all, I think it was a success! He’ll be full until dinner and happy he didn’t miss out on snacking with his buddies. Sure, it’s not the same, and it never will be, but it’s not complete deprivation, either. Next week, I’ll tackle some recipes from one of the two new cookbooks I picked up on the cheap from the used bookstore today! So excited to have new meals to try!

20130113-161313.jpg

Also, I thought I should include a picture of the banana bread oatmeal I made again for our lunch today, because I think I forgot to do it when I made it last week. This time, I used almond milk, and topped it with strawberries and a sprinkle of chopped almonds (and a nip of light syrup on Dan’s). Delish! Have you ever tried Dunks coffee with a splash of unsweetened almond milk and a Truvia packet? Super yummy (and you get more coffee if you add your own mix-ins at home)!

20130113-161519.jpg

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday, and the warm weather if you’re in the Northeast! Go Pats!

2 thoughts on “Let’s go Patriots!

  1. This is a GREAT blog, and I look forward to reading more of your adventures in cooking, exercise and reforming the Bearded One. Definitely going to try some of your recipes, especially the oatmeal ones. Eating a nice breakfast does carry over to how you eat the whole rest of the day, as you’ve discovered. Keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

