Why is it so hard to eat breakfast?

Today, I went back to work with a tidy little bagful of food packed. I had my nice little light wheat toast, a little bit of pre-portioned almond butter and sliced strawberries (another reason to love Ikea: 17 piece tupperware sets with the tiniest pieces, perfect for packing just a nip of this or that) for breakfast, and my overnight, no-cook oatmeal for lunch. It was a chore just to get through the breakfast food and my coffee after so many years of not eating it regularly. I know that sounds terrible, like ‘oh, poor me, I can’t make myself eat breakfast,’ but believe me, I’ve always made up for it with huge pre-dinner snacking and my baking when I get home from work.

But I did it, took my little multivitamin, and even discussed juicing with one of my bosses, who has been doing it for a few months with a lot of success. He said his wife accuses him of being able to lose weight without trying, and he doesn’t have the heart to tell her it’s probably not a good thing that she takes a handful from the M&M bowl every time she walks past and snacks regularly. I had a hard time sympathizing with him, haha. By lunchtime, I wasn’t even all that hungry (and I had my breakfast at nine and lunch at two), but I ate my little oatmeal jar and was feeling pretty good. I resisted the myriad of Peeps someone brought in and left on the table in the common area (and the milk chocolate fish. I think it says ‘Merry Fishmas. Seriously).

The gym was completely packed, as I expected it would be on the first regular workday of the new year. So many people sitting and waiting to sign up for new memberships, too. I managed to get in a 45 minute elliptical workout with people circling like vultures, but it irritated the heck out of me. Sigh. I was on my own for dinner, as my hubby had to go see his parents (aka, cake and pizza night), so I whipped up Cooking Light’s Chicken-Butternut Tagine. I figured that even though it made four servings, I’d portion out one and leave the rest for him to take to work tomorrow for lunch. That took effort, as the thought of cake and pizza nearly made me cry.

I do plan to eat things like that again, of course, but just not this early on in the diet. I forgot to mention! I made some homemade yogurt that finished last night at about 2:30AM (the beeping convinced me the house was on fire which was not fun), and has been chilling in the fridge. This is actually the second time I’ve used the machine, but it seems to have been more successful. The first time, I used fresh fruit and a sugar/truvia blend and it didn’t thicken. I’m pretty sure I overboiled the milk and scorched it, and rather than using one of my two previous yogurt starter packets (aka all the fun cultures), I used a store bought yogurt, as they said you could do. The result was runny, grainy yogurt that did NOT keep long. We dumped most of it.

This time, I used the starter packet, watched the temperature of the milk and stirred frequently to prevent scorching, and went with an organic, low-calorie and sugar jam from Whole Foods. It looks thick and tasty (and I may strain it off even more and make Greek-style, plus, apparently you can keep the strained liquid and add it to a lot of recipes), and I’m looking forward to having it for lunch tomorrow! I’m still below my recommended calorie level for the day, and even though it’s a little late, I think I might find a snack comprised of all the fresh fruit we have in the fridge that’s on the edge of turning. I’ve been googling low-cal desserts for two which yields a mixed bag of results. I’ll let you know how it goes in the next post!

P.S. I also found a recipe on one of my favorite food blogs, Brown Eyed Baker for a Basic Green Smoothie that is made with fruit as well as veggies! I have a vegan friend at the office who let me try his once, and I wasn’t a fan, but this seems infinitely more doable. I’ll let you know if I go ahead with it!

Milk cooking, but not burning!

20130102-204435.jpg

The finished mixture, slowly cooking for ten hours!

20130102-204532.jpg

Leave a Reply

